Very out of the box build - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > GM Diesel Engines > 6.5L Diesel Engine > 6.5/6.2 High Performance Engine Modifications
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

6.5/6.2 High Performance Engine Modifications High Performance Turbocharger and Engine Related Modifications Discussion Forum - Specific To The GM 6.2 & 6.5 Diesel Engine.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2015, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
cruiserbrandon
Low Boost

iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Very out of the box build

Hey everyone have lurked on here for a while and have been putting a build together for a couple years now that I have been dreaming about for 20 years. This is very non conventional but that's just who I am and I always want to push the envelope. I have prepared myself to fail and lots of trial and error but if I hit my mark I feel this may be something worth documenting.

The plan

Build a 1984 Toyota Land Cruiser FJ60 with 1 ton axles, dual transfercases and 40" tires that I can still afford to drive daily if I chose. My dream when I was 12 was a massive diesel powered Land Cruiser like the stock one I grew up with just better, after lots of research and remembering that dream I loved the idea of a supercharged diesel that is mainly for LIGHT DUTY and devoted mainly to moving its own weight with efficiency. That's when a mil spec 93 6.5 with serp belt and like 10k miles on it fell in my lap. Its of course turbo charged but after looking at the extremely inefficient way the turbo has to be setup and how low of boost these high compression motors need to build decent power I started researching other options.