Wire Splicing Basics - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > GM Diesel Engines > 6.5L Diesel Engine
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

6.5L Diesel Engine Discuss the 6.5 GM diesel engine & associated components. Automatic transmission questions & problems belong in the 4L80/85 - 4L60E - 6L90 Transmission Forum

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2008, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
HamOP

iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Wire Splicing Basics

I've been putting wires together for a living since 1968 and hope this helps someone out there in 6.5 land
Quote:
From JiFaire: Use rosin-core solder, good wire, and take your time ..... When you cut, be sure to offset a bit, so you don't have 6 splices side-by-side.

Jim & I have discussed this offline and I believe we're in agreement to the following:
IF you're going to solder the wires heed the above warning to use rosin-core solder! NEVER use acid-core solder, or flux, on anything electrical!!!