Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums (https://www.dieselplace.com/forum/)
-   6.2L Diesel Engine (https://www.dieselplace.com/forum/63-gm-diesel-engines/20-6-2l-diesel-engine/)
-   -   Question: 6.2L Won't start without a shot of ether. (https://www.dieselplace.com/forum/63-gm-diesel-engines/20-6-2l-diesel-engine/978590-6-2l-wont-start-without-shot-ether.html)

riverrev 09-10-2019 09:45 PM

6.2L Won't start without a shot of ether.

Hello all, I am new here, not too new to Diesels, own a 2015 3500 Duramax, still under warranty, not new to working on vehicles, as I have done so all my life, 50+ years. I am new to working on diesels. Just bought a 1984 GMC 3500 6.2l Stake side, to work around my farm with. I was told that it was not the original motor, tho the truck was originally a 6.2l, it has a Toole Army Depot 6.2l engine in it now. I need some help or info, so to start the truck, a minor bit of ether is needed, which I see here is not a good thing, after that she runs beautifully. Would seem to be an initial fuel issue, but I don't have a clue, where to start. Help please.

OkDually 09-10-2019 10:08 PM

Welcome to DieselPlace
I moved your post over to the 6.2L section for better responses to your issues

:thumb:

bobbywalter 09-10-2019 11:22 PM

does it have a block heater? if so plug it in for an hour or two and see how it starts.

if it fires right up then it maybe glow plug issues. easy place to start.

roadhog0 09-11-2019 01:04 AM

Glow plugs not lighting probably. Does the glow plug light come on? Does it have push button glow plugs?

davester 09-11-2019 01:49 AM

Note, do not use ether with working glow plugs...

Bigboytoys 09-11-2019 02:12 AM

Ya pleeeease DON"T USE ETHER ... us pam cooking spray, WD40 depending on your area ...

Yes, my bet is either glow plugs not working or you have an air leak?

Does it run clean and not miss fire once starting? Then it's not air ...

And ...