Diesel Place banner

92 GMC 6.2 Diesel lift pump won't work after injector pump replacement

10K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  jrsavoie 
#1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to the site, my dad suggested it to me after I had issues with my injector pump replacement.

I have a 92 GMC 1/2 ton with a 6.2 diesel. I've been driving it for the last 15 years. Honestly best truck I've ever owned.

The truck became harder to start, then after about a month or so whenever the truck would heat up to operating temperature and then you would shut it off. When you would try start it again the truck would not start until the engine cooled off.

The signs to me was that the injector pump was failing. I put about 250k on the truck and never changed the pump. Dad figured u can get about 200k on the pumps before replacing them so that made sense that I needed to change the injector pump.

I pulled the injector pump out of a 90 diesel I'm restoring, I needed to pull this pump anyways because I'm installing a turbo from a 93 6.5 on it. I'm putting the pump from the 93 parts truck into my restoration project.

I completely installed the pump from my running 1990 into my 1992. I hooked everything up correctly or at least I think I did. I turned the key on and turned it over hoping the lift pump would kick in so I can bleed the injectors and fill the new fuel filter I installed.

I figured I could use the lift pump to bleed up to the replacement fuel filter using that valve on the top of the filter housing. No matter what I did the lift pump would just not kick on.

Next I thought well maybe the oil pressure sending unit failed. I've replaced 3 of these over the years. So I jumped the plug on the oil pressure sending unit. I wasn't sure which prongs to jumper so I did all three individually with each other and no luck the lift would not start.

Has anyone else ever had an issue like this? My next thought is to check the fuses for the lift pump or maybe a relay...