83 to 85+ Glow Plug Controller Swap help needed. - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > GM Diesel Engines > 6.2L Diesel Engine
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise

6.2L Diesel Engine Discuss the 6.2 GM diesel engine & associated components.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By ordiesel

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2007, 04:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
ordiesel

iTrader Score: 0 reviews

83 to 85+ Glow Plug Controller Swap help needed.

Back ground: I'm new to Diesels and have been re-wiring some of the wires in the '83 C2500 Suburban I recently purchased (the wires connected to the started had melted onto the exhaust manifold and shorted out the harness). It was previously converted to the 85+ glow plug controller. The wiring appears to have been nicely done and the harness was extended to the controller now sits on the driver's side inner fender.

I traced all the wires from the new controller to the harness to make sure where they went.
  1. Terminal A is not used.
  2. Terminal B connects to the s terminal on the starter.
  3. Terminal C connects to the light blue wire from terminal 3 of the old glow plug controller that has been connected the two black wires from terminal 5 and 6 of the old glow plug controller.
  4. Terminal D connects to the main wiring harness and receives power when the ignition switch is in the ON position.
  5. Terminal E is grounded to the chassis.
The old controller's remaining brown and dark green wires are capped