OK - it's official - RPO UF3 high idle "switch" CAN be added by dealer - Page 5 - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums
 
Home Forum Market Place Garage Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > GM Diesel Engines > Duramax Fourth Generation: 2007.5-2010 (LMM)
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Advertise


Duramax Fourth Generation: 2007.5-2010 (LMM) Discuss the fourth generation (2007.5-2010) of the 6.6L Duramax diesel engine & associated components. Engine related discussion ONLY.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2014, 06:32 PM   #41 (permalink)
Tom S.
Diesel Ace
 
Tom S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 14,371
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

I believe it is for use with auxiliary items that run off a power take off, such as a generator or other types of equipment. I don't think it has anything to do with warming the vehicle up, though I guess it could be used for that.

BTW: Welcome to the forum!!!

__________________
2015 LML 3500 HD Dually (Yes, it has training wheels!)

Former Member #13 of the 3500 SRW Club

Press 1 for English - Press 2 to learn English - Press 3 for Immigration

"Why do I have to press one for English when you're just gonna transfer me to someone I can't understand anyway?" Unknown

Last edited by Tom S.; 10-09-2014 at 06:33 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2014, 06:42 PM   #42 (permalink)
carhauler
Diesel Pro
 
carhauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,090
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

somehow this seems like a totally wrong place for this to be?? am I wrong ? DP is getting so hard to wade thru and the search is useless any more . maybe thats why most posts are days and weeks old? this is meant to be constructive not a mean post.

__________________
2015 GMC Denali Dually , Debadged , tinted windows , 98 Gal Transferflow bed tank, color match Grille /Yukon Denali Door handles
paint to match Mirrors/ Tailgate latch /Billet GMC emblem/AE 20" wheels /265-60-20 Mich. Defender tires Amp steps/BW Hitch /Additional LED's/17 hood/Banks tailpipe/Denali LED 1500 Headlights with Gen5diy harness and Led fogs
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2014, 06:59 PM   #43 (permalink)
PrivatePilot
Just Horsing Around
 
PrivatePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Near The Coffee Maker
Posts: 17,562
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Ontario Diesel Place Chapter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by carhauler View Post
somehow this seems like a totally wrong place for this to be?? am I wrong ? DP is getting so hard to wade thru and the search is useless any more .
A topic about elevated engine idle is right at home in the engine technical forum.

And we're not aware of problems with search. Perhaps post your issue in our forum operations forum and we could discuss it there.
__________________
Mark - Courtice, Ontario, Canada.
SOLD: '97 C3500 Crew Cab Long Box Dually 6.5 Turbo Diesel.
Rebuilt with Navistar 506 block spring 2012
Special thanks to Racer55 and WhiteK2500 for their invaluable assistance!
Helping a friend: Duckies Longarm Quilting Oshawa / Durham Region!
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-16-2016, 09:57 PM   #44 (permalink)
danbrew
Heat Sink
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 19
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

I have a 2015 High Country Diesel and asked my dealer about it when I was last in for service. I shared some detail from various forums with him and he took it as a homework item. He called a few days ago and told me it was all software upgrade driven & would cost me $200.

I go in for the upgrade tomorrow. Will post here about results.
__________________
15 2500HD Diesel High Country
------------------------------------
I didn't "need" it. I wanted it.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2016, 10:12 PM   #45 (permalink)
Ekmoon
High Compression
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kansas
Posts: 25
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

I did it to mine.
15 min and $200.00.
It works well for jump starts.
__________________
2008 2500 HD LMM

“You can have it cheap, fast or good. Pick any two,”
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2016, 11:48 PM   #46 (permalink)
danbrew
Heat Sink
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 19
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Had it completed today - was $185 and took about an hour. Got a car wash out of it too.

__________________
15 2500HD Diesel High Country
------------------------------------
I didn't "need" it. I wanted it.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2016, 11:59 PM   #47 (permalink)
Ekmoon
High Compression
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kansas
Posts: 25
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

I am thinking the ac will cool better when waiting for someone to get out of school
__________________
2008 2500 HD LMM

“You can have it cheap, fast or good. Pick any two,”
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 05:46 PM   #48 (permalink)
tigers2007
Diesel Newbie
 
tigers2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 33
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Any insiders here know exactly how much the GM Techline Customer Support Center (TCSC) actually charges the dealer to do this? I have a Techline account but I'm clueless to how much they would charge. It is my plan to call them up later this spring to give the TCSC a remote starter activation code and then also add the UF3 feature to the new VCI while I have them on the phone. Then I'll shoot ACDelco the $55 for two-day TiS2Web access.
__________________
“The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not.” -Thomas Jefferson
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2019, 09:36 AM   #49 (permalink)
cptdondo
High Compression
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: On the road. Literally.
Posts: 27
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by breecher_7 View Post
Put truck in park, set parking brake, press the "set" button on your cruise control.
Hmmm.... I have the UF3 option, but neither the elevated idle nor the high idle are working. Any ideas on where to start? I need the high idle option as I expect to be idling here and there.

The cruise control itself is flaky; it doesn't engage about 80% of the time. Anyone know if the cruise has to be working for the high idle?

And if so, where do I begin to diagnose the cruise?
__________________
2010 G4500 express ambulance LMM Duramax
6L90 transmission.
Online   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2019, 06:12 AM   #50 (permalink)
Rvn4me
Diesel Champ
 
Rvn4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,899
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Cruise Control, brake switch, third brake light all need to be working.
And no codes.


Last edited by Rvn4me; 03-31-2019 at 06:20 AM.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

PLEASE READ! You must check your email inbox for the confirmation link to complete registration. Please check your spam box if you do not see the email in your inbox.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I set my engine to "high idle"? ponsi Duramax Third Generation: 2006-2007.5 (LBZ & LLY) 26 02-25-2008 01:57 PM
Quick "old timer" high idle gkoro Duramax First Generation: 2001-2004 (LB7) 1 12-07-2007 04:04 PM
Launching with High Idle "Launch" Control JrTuner Drag Racing 19 09-20-2006 05:04 PM
Can someone check my question at the end of the "High Idle is fantastic" post RyanU Duramax First Generation: 2001-2004 (LB7) 0 01-23-2005 12:23 AM
"key in ignition switch" and "head lights on" chime talldaddy Duramax Second Generation: 2004.5-2005 (LLY) 3 01-03-2005 07:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
© AutoGuide