Diesel Place banner

nitrous+water together! anyone done it?

2K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  JBarker-BanksPower 
#1 ·
okay i know that dmitri has used this setup but has anyone else ran nitrous and water/meth together. will it freeze due to the temp drop by the nitrous(just a thought)? and how would they work together(combustion wise) if water doesnt freeze? already have the nitrous setup in place I am just wanting to supplement it and reduce some egt with the water. thanks mike

#3 ·
I ran a set up on my TA with a large front mount and a good size injection of water/meth post intercooler of course. I started playing around with a little nitrous kit i had laying around and sprayed pre turbo just to see how things would work. I didnt expect any big gains since i was only running a 35 shot. I WAS WRONG. Boost comes in a lot harder and there was a small but noticeable drop in IAT's.

You also have to think that the meth also increases the freezing point of water and i dont see your IAT's getting any where close to freezing.

The only issue i can see is if you injected the water/meth and nitrous right on top of each other. I would probably spray the nitrous first since it doesn't depend on placement so much as the water injection does. As long as they are a foot or two apart i think you will be more then fine.

#4 ·
thats kinda what i was thinkin as well just wanted some reinforcment on it. thanks guys

#5 ·
Not to hijack the thread, but I'm curious how the water/meth works. If I understand it correctly, when you have it turned on it uses a temp probe, or obd2 to determine the IATs, and it won't inject unless IATs are over a set point. Ie. using one, two or three stages of water/meth at different temp ranges. So when running nitrous if your IATs drop bc of the nitrous temperature the water/meth should shut itself down anyway, unless you run it switched, like the nitrous.