Diesel Place banner

Preturbo injection

4K views 17 replies 12 participants last post by  Mike_S 
#1 ·
been talkin to some guys on other sites.

they been settin up Water/meth set ups usin injector nozzles BEFORE the turbo,

also they Dont use a pump,and controller.

they use actual boost pressure and a special fuel aeration nozzles(pumps boost into a resivoir tank,and a small bypass of air into the nozzles(extrmly fine spray of liquid), also a solenoid&pressure sensor to shut off flow when not on boost.

claim is any where from 50-100hp dependin on water/meth mix!!

say its cheap to do. parts from Grainger and Home depotETC.

what do you think?????

#2 ·
Running a water/meth mist threw there turbo doesn't sound good to me. I would think this would cause vane wear and screw up there turbo,killing it in the long run but I'm no expert. I'd like to hear others opinions.

#3 ·
what i can google,, is water/meth injection before turb. is how injection was done long ago, sayin compressor wheel makes vaporization more complete before it gets into chamber, somethin like a homogenized mixture,much better mixed and blended. sounds like OK!

searchin further,, Volvo,and Saab, had some turbo cars with preturb injection systems,
and after long tests, said after 100K miles, yes wheel showed at slight amount of edge wear, did NOT hurt performance or boost,, conclusion was maybe at 200K turb might need service, but still performed within limits.

need more research and info on this subject,, some guys are sayin it saved there motor!

#4 ·
speakin on this concept,, just yesterday, was out with my diesel car,(weather around Austin Tx. TERRIBLE cold and wet rain,, and noticed my boost was comin in around 150-200rpm earlier. I use an LED light for notification then look at gauge for amount.
any good talk on what was takin place?? this was with NO injection on, not drivin fast in road conditions,, but the torque was noticable on hills

#5 ·