Diesel Place banner

Left my truck in 4 wheel drive @ 80mph?!? What now?

49K views 34 replies 31 participants last post by  TCosgrove 
#1 ·
Can anyone tell me what I should do or check after making a stupid but easy mistake to make in a GM truck? I left my 2005, 3500 GMC dually truck in 4 Wheel High and drove home yesterday. I drove it roughly an hour at 75-80 miles an hour in 4 wheel high! What damage did I cause and what should I do after making this mistake; besides "sell the truck". It's driving fine and making no strange noises; so it seems to be fine; I just want to make sure I take every precaution to correct any damage now. WHY CAN'T GM PUT "4 WHEEL DRIVE" ACROSS OUR DASH READ OUT TO HELP PREVENT THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's way too easy to leave a Chevy or GM in 4 wheel drive and not realize it. Thanks in advance for your advice.

#2 ·
I don't think you did any harm. Its just like driving down an icy highway for and hour. I'm not an expert but thats my opinion.

#3 ·
I have the 08 and the book says I can drive in 4 high at any speed.

#4 ·
I wouldn't expect any damage. I blew off a rear driveline on my old Bronce once and need to get home, so I pulled off what was left of the driveline and drove it 250 mile on front drive. Drove a little different, but never had a problem.

#5 ·
I drove about 50 miles on the highway with my 02 in 4wd. I even pulled over to check what the noise was. Then I realized and felt very stupid, but thank god it didn't hurt anything and that was over 3 years ago.

#6 ·
DuallyMonster;1930836; said: