People sending emails [Archive] - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums

: People sending emails


CanadianRigger
05-31-2005, 09:57 PM
Even though this is off topic i think it should stay here as its pertenent to this forum.
That said i've received a lot of email from other members and thats just great, i respond to all of them but this is where the problem comes in... 90% of the emails i return get returned back to me because the persons server will not accept it and this is the same error i get all the time.

Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.

Subject: RE: 92 mm pump

Sent: 5/31/2005 6:56 PM

The following recipient(s) could not be reached:

'XXXX@streetunity.com' on 5/31/2005 6:56 PM

553 Sorry, that domain isn't in my list of allowed rcpthosts.


The subject line changes of course for each email but the error is always the 553 error.
Please if your going to send me email make sure i'm in your list of allowed recipients!

I respond to all emails, if you didn't get it, its because your server won't accept my email.

bowtie
05-31-2005, 10:19 PM
Hey this is a good thing to remember when sending any emails out to fellow members

CanadianRigger
05-31-2005, 10:24 PM
Thanks Bow!

bowtie
05-31-2005, 11:14 PM
NO Problem
Glad to help out when possible

guybb3
06-01-2005, 06:00 AM
Thanks for telling us CR. That's so easily forgotten when you e-mail someone for the first time.

Bagalac
06-01-2005, 07:41 AM
my bad it was me who sent that email... i'm the bastard at streetunity.. but here it is this morning.. and i'm trying to check my email and my servers down.. no idea why your email wouldn'tg o through other then that.. i dont have anything blocked i will look into it though.. CR if you wouldn't mind PMing me what ever it was you wrote in the email i'd appreciate it and i wont attempt to use email anymore

Bagalac
06-01-2005, 07:48 AM
i looked into it a little more CR and it seems you might be suffering from a similiar situation to me.. sometimes when we own our own domains we can flagged as spam sources because we're not all that well known.. i actually had to call AOL 3 times to get my host off their blacklist because it was screwing up my EBAY activity with them having streetunity on their blacklist apparently my server did the same to your CR.com i'm calling my server company today and making sure your name is removed off the list..


Brian

0lee
06-15-2005, 06:21 PM
Well, I'm blocking off those domains that do not accept mail from me because that makes me unable to handle mail from those domains correctly. Since I've no influence on it, users sending mail from those domains have to complain to their provider about the mail to them that their providers embezzle. I'm trying to get through an error message anyway, but I can't ever tell if it's getting through or not because I've to send it through the smarthost of my provider instead of directly.

Bagalac, how did you manage to get a static IP address?

PS: Bagalac, I've just sent you a testmail.