: Caution about Ebay and GM NAV purchase
wdlfbio 02-20-2007, 05:31 PM I'm looking to buy a TNR, and Ebay was one of my options. I got an email from a seller that the winning bidder backed out, so I could have it. They told me Square Trade Transactions would be sending me an invoice. I never heard of this, so I researched a little and found out it's a scam. There is a Square Trade, but the real company DOES NOT send invoices or transfer money from buyers to sellers.
Since so many people are looking at this option, I thought I'd put out a warning. I also notified Ebay and the real Square Trade.
edinning 02-20-2007, 05:37 PM Don't do it.
If you didn't get the message in your e-bay account it is a fake listing.
Tom S. 02-20-2007, 06:10 PM What is the seller's feedback? If they have a lot of transactions, it could be legit.
edinning 02-20-2007, 07:01 PM It isnt real unless you recieve notice in the My Message section of E-bay. Trust me I have been through this already.
srode 02-20-2007, 07:57 PM Always contact the seller if it didn't come from Ebay - but rest assured it's a scam if it doesn't come through ebay - have had about a dozen of them.
gearhead 02-20-2007, 08:18 PM and dont use your email address for your user name,
236ek 02-20-2007, 08:24 PM Be careful with these offers that look legitimate in your email. Usually they have a link in the email that seems like you are going to Ebay, and requires you to enter your ebay user name and password. If you did this, you just gave your info to the scammer, and he now has access to your Ebay account and possibly your Paypal (cc numbers, bank info, etc). Change your ebay and paypal password immediately if you did this. Very Common Fraud. Like everybody said, never open an email that looks like it is from Ebay in your normal email. Only open messages that appear in your messages in your My Ebay page.
myojunk 02-20-2007, 08:32 PM you can open an email from ebay if IT INCLUDES YOUR REAL NAME. if it has "ebay member" then its a scam. you can also forward it to "spoof @ ebay . com" to let ebay know
TheBac 02-20-2007, 09:45 PM If anyone offers the item to you to buy thru email, its usually a scam.
The advise given in the above posts is spot-on!
LarryJewell 02-20-2007, 10:28 PM must be a lot of this going on
Scams are everwhere on Ebay! I bid on a car and the reserve was not met,the seller or scammer sent me a email saying I could have the car for my max price. The car was a hour away from me, I ask Can I pay you when I pick it up? They told me it was already at the transport company, so no it had to be shipped. Yea right, so do be careful
Frozen_Sierra 02-21-2007, 01:24 AM Also be careful of the ones that say there ebay account is locked out so e-mail them at their personal e-mail.
"Scams are everwhere on Ebay! I bid on a car and the reserve was not met,the seller or scammer sent me a email saying I could have the car for my max price. The car was a hour away from me, I ask Can I pay you when I pick it up? They told me it was already at the transport company, so no it had to be shipped. Yea right, so do be careful"
I had won a bid on a 95 Supra that was in Deleware or something and when I e-mailed the guy he said he would only accept Western Union and was now living in Austria.
TheBac 02-21-2007, 06:53 AM must be a lot of this going on
Sadly, you are correct. But they do leave clues, as all these posts show. You just have to be a smart buyer and see the clues.
RJWesleyIII 02-21-2007, 08:09 AM Had the same situation on craigslist.com. a guy had a 2005 raptor atv all custom paint, every mod you can think of, including nos, and it was showroom quality. all for 2500 bucks. So I e-mailed him, and said he hired a company to take care of the transaction, and as soon as I mailed him the money, they would ship it, and I would have 3 full days to either keep it, or send it back for a full refund. they he tells me he is on his honeymoon in this far away country, and I would have to mail it to him there. ah, yah right! SCAM. Found another atv for sale with almost the same senario. WTF! who do these people think they are! I would like to kick their A**! maybe if they got a JOB, they would not have to scam people!
dmaxalliTech 02-21-2007, 08:18 AM get the ebay toolbar, it usually picks them up as well ( the spoof emails )
haulin-rv 02-22-2007, 08:01 AM Almost every "Second chance" offer is a scam.
Joe55 02-22-2007, 11:46 AM Thanks for the info
chevsforever 02-23-2007, 12:12 AM Unfortunately the second chance scam got my wife. Im glad we "only" lost $475 on a deal that looked totally legit and she used western union. The $ went to some a......les in London. At least that didnt happen on my $5000 dirt bike deal. I hate sleezeballs! I wish I could tie them all together and use the power of the MAX to drag them around on the asphalt for awhile!
rcpd34 02-23-2007, 03:36 AM What is the seller's feedback? If they have a lot of transactions, it could be legit.
Not true. It has nothing to do with the actual seller.
Almost every "Second chance" offer is a scam.
Not true. I use Second Chance auctions all the time. You need to be sure you are not "outside" eBay. Also look at the web address; you can usually spot the fakes that way. Use PayPal and/or a credit card so you have recourse. NEVER use Western Onion, or a USPO if you are suspicious. Check feedback; look for sellers with higher positive transactions. I have over 1200 positive feedbacks on eBay. Steer clear of "private" feedback. There are a lot of great deals on eBay; I have bough two TNR's there. You just have to do your homework and be careful.
Hmmmmm, so which one is the scam? :nono:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/GM-Factory-Touchscreen-Navigation-w-map-disc_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ38653QQihZ011QQite mZ320084640717QQrdZ1
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/OEM-GM-Navigation-LUX-touch-screen-Suburban-Tahoe_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ38653QQihZ016QQit emZ260089282129QQrdZ1
rcpd34 02-23-2007, 06:37 PM Hmmmmm, so which one is the scam? :nono:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/GM-Factory-Touchscreen-Navigation-w-map-disc_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ38653QQihZ011QQite mZ320084640717QQrdZ1
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/OEM-GM-Navigation-LUX-touch-screen-Suburban-Tahoe_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ38653QQihZ016QQit emZ260089282129QQrdZ1
Look at the feedback; it speaks volumes. One has '0' and the other '596'. I know who I would be buying from. You might let them know that their pics were stolen. If they notify ebay, the auction will be cancelled.
Yup, I already sent the guy w/ feedback the link to the other one.
rcpd34 02-23-2007, 07:44 PM Yup, I already sent the guy w/ feedback the link to the other one.
Yeah, I did too.
pmikey 02-24-2007, 09:08 AM Yeah, I did too.
Yeah, I did too.
I contacted both of them yesterday and the 0 feedback guy (cherrybaby276) got back to me but he did not address my question pointing out that they had the same bear tin on the fridge and the same wall paper in the background. The guy with 597 feedbacks (ceilafromthenutcompany) did not get back to me yet. I think I'm going to buy a new one from Delphi. It's not worth it to me to risk getting ripped off for almost $1K .
236ek 02-24-2007, 11:00 AM I contacted both of them yesterday and the 0 feedback guy (cherrybaby276) got back to me but he did not address my question pointing out that they had the same bear tin on the fridge and the same wall paper in the background. .
I hope that you blocked your email address from being shown when you asked the seller a question. Often times the scammer is just trying to get more info from you, like your email address. If you didn't, Be ready for a bunch of "official looking" Ebay emails being sent to your email, and be very careful not to click on any link in the emails unless you know the email did originate from Ebay.
| |