adding a factory turbo brake? - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums
 
Home Forum Market Place Garage Lounge (0) Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > Speciality Forums > Electrical
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance

Electrical Discuss anything related to OEM & aftermarket electrical devices including: stereos, speakers, video, batteries, starters, the body control module, lighting, etc.

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 12:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
dmax3500
Diesel Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: chi-town
Posts: 3,433
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

adding a factory turbo brake?

anybody do it yet ?,,can it be done ?,how does it work ?
__________________
2008 3500 lt 4x2 d/a,,now fully loaded ,greystone met and ''katzkin'' grey leather int
Offline  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2013, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tom S.
Moderator
Life sucks-then you die.
 
Tom S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,939
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

DieselPlace.com Lifetime Premium Member

I don't know if it can be retrofitted to an earlier year, but I am willing to bet you could buy the Banks unit cheaper than to buy a factory unit.
__________________
2015 LML 3500 HD Dually (Yes, it has training wheels!)

Former Member #13 of the 3500 SRW Club

Press 1 for English - Press 2 to learn English - Press 3 for Immigration

You give me a water board, Dick Cheney and one hour, and I'll have him confess to the Sharon Tate murders. Jesse Ventura
Online   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2013, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
roy67ss
Diesel Technician
 
roy67ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Drumheller, Alberta
Posts: 307
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Alberta Coal Rollers Member

You can get turbo braking with EFILive.
__________________
Roy's toys,

2006 Chev 2500HD CCSB 4x4 LBZ, Leather and sunroof, 430,000km
- pyrometer and boost gauges in Trippin overhead console mount
- EGR blocker plate and bypassed EGR cooler, PVC reroute, cat delete, 5" MBRP exhaust w/6" tip
- EFI Live and DSP5 tunes by Idaho Rob

2007 GMC Classic 3500 ECLB 4x4 LBZ SRW Leather & sunroof, 143,000km
- pyrometer and boost gauges in Trippin overhead console mount
- EGR blocker plate and bypassed EGR cooler, PCV reroute
- 4" exhaust turbo back, cat delete, dual outlets to 5" tips
- EFI Live and DSP5 tunes by Idaho Rob

Alberta Coal Rollers Member #24

Last edited by roy67ss; 01-06-2013 at 10:40 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
dmax3500
Diesel Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: chi-town
Posts: 3,433
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

yes ,but i want to know about factory unit
__________________
2008 3500 lt 4x2 d/a,,now fully loaded ,greystone met and ''katzkin'' grey leather int
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 03:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
DURAtotheMAX
Diesel Laureate
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 17,751
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax3500 View Post
anybody do it yet ?,,can it be done ?,how does it work ?
You've asked this question like 4 times. The answer hasnt changed. (no)
__________________
2005 silverado LT, CC/SB, black, 4x4, L??/ALLISON
2006 audi s4, black, quattro, v8/6spd

big thanks to...Eric @ Merchant Auto, Mike @ Inglewood Transmission, Guy @ SoCal Diesel, IdahoRob, Tim @ St. Joseph Diesel, RickDLance, McRat/team salad, BigDipper, Nathan @ MPI, Bobo/team twisted, Fingers, Tony @ RidgeRunner Diesel, EFILive
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
dmax3500
Diesel Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: chi-town
Posts: 3,433
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

yep,but by now somebody should have figured it out
__________________
2008 3500 lt 4x2 d/a,,now fully loaded ,greystone met and ''katzkin'' grey leather int
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 12:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
DURAtotheMAX
Diesel Laureate
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 17,751
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax3500 View Post
yep,but by now somebody should have figured it out
ITS INTEGRAL TO THE LML's UNIQUE SOFTWARE CODE!!!! ITS A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT ECM!!!!!

Unless you're a freaking GM software engineer or someone who has months (or more) to re-write a completely custom operating system for the LMM ECM, ITS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN!!!! Why cant you understand that? Thats like asking "why cant we run a VVT on an LB7 ECM, it cant be that hard!!". The code JUST DOES NOT EXIST in the ECM!!!!

Thats like asking "why hasnt anyone figured out how to run windows 7 on an iphone yet, IT CANT POSSIBLY BE THAT HARD????"

Jesus cripes.

Make a DSP-5 tune for your LMM, and make one of the tunes a turbo-brake tune. Thats the best you're going to get, deal with it.

ben
__________________
2005 silverado LT, CC/SB, black, 4x4, L??/ALLISON
2006 audi s4, black, quattro, v8/6spd

big thanks to...Eric @ Merchant Auto, Mike @ Inglewood Transmission, Guy @ SoCal Diesel, IdahoRob, Tim @ St. Joseph Diesel, RickDLance, McRat/team salad, BigDipper, Nathan @ MPI, Bobo/team twisted, Fingers, Tony @ RidgeRunner Diesel, EFILive
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 01:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
gave20
Diesel Technician
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 292
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

it's been 6 hours can it be added now.
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
dmax3500
Diesel Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: chi-town
Posts: 3,433
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by DURAtotheMAX View Post
ITS INTEGRAL TO THE LML's UNIQUE SOFTWARE CODE!!!! ITS A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT ECM!!!!!

Unless you're a freaking GM software engineer or someone who has months (or more) to re-write a completely custom operating system for the LMM ECM, ITS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN!!!! Why cant you understand that? Thats like asking "why cant we run a VVT on an LB7 ECM, it cant be that hard!!". The code JUST DOES NOT EXIST in the ECM!!!!

Thats like asking "why hasnt anyone figured out how to run windows 7 on an iphone yet, IT CANT POSSIBLY BE THAT HARD????"

Jesus cripes.

Make a DSP-5 tune for your LMM, and make one of the tunes a turbo-brake tune. Thats the best you're going to get, deal with it.

ben
thanks,thats all you needed to say
__________________
2008 3500 lt 4x2 d/a,,now fully loaded ,greystone met and ''katzkin'' grey leather int
Offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

PLEASE READ! You must check your email inbox for the confirmation link to complete registration. Please check your spam box if you do not see the email in your inbox.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LMM: adding 2011-2012 factory exhaust brake to 2008? dmax3500 Fourth Generation Duramax Electronics/Tuners 31 01-05-2014 08:22 PM
Factory Turbo Brake? bullfrogjohnson Medium Duty Trucks 6 12-22-2010 06:21 PM
FACTORY turbo brake on LBZ? stump_breaker Duramax Third Generation: 2006-2007.5 (LBZ & LLY) 9 10-27-2010 01:11 PM
Adding a factory brake controller diesail Electrical 11 05-21-2009 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
© AutoGuide

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0