GM factory power inverter? - Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums
 
Home Forum Market Place Garage Lounge (0) Tuning Library DTC Tool Register Vendors
Go Back   Diesel Place : Chevrolet and GMC Diesel Truck Forums > Speciality Forums > Electrical
Register FAQ Forum Rules My Replies My Threads Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance

DieselPlace.com is the premier Duramax Diesel Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2012, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
dmax3500
Diesel Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: chi-town
Posts: 3,330
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

GM factory power inverter?

they say there on 2008-2011 trucks,were are the outlets? and do they work good?,and were is the inverter module?,,ive got one out of a saturn vue-2009.,but ive never seen one in our trucks
__________________
2008 3500 lt 4x2 d/a,,now fully loaded ,greystone met and ''katzkin'' grey leather int
Offline  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2012, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
DURAtotheMAX
Diesel Laureate
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 17,744
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

the 110vac outlets are on the hybrid trucks only.

It just taps into the high voltage AC that is used for the (hybrid) electric motor.
__________________
2005 silverado LT, CC/SB, black, 4x4, L??/ALLISON
2006 audi s4, black, quattro, v8/6spd

big thanks to...Eric @ Merchant Auto, Mike @ Inglewood Transmission, Guy @ SoCal Diesel, IdahoRob, Tim @ St. Joseph Diesel, RickDLance, McRat/team salad, BigDipper, Nathan @ MPI, Bobo/team twisted, Fingers, Tony @ RidgeRunner Diesel, EFILive
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Staggerlee
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Central Oklahoma
Posts: 31
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

Haven't heard of them, but that don't mean you can't install one.
You could probably find room on an inner fender to mount one, and hook it up to the aux. battery.
Lee
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 06:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pat H
Diesel Technician
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central FL
Posts: 186
iTrader Score: 0 reviews

I've seen people just wire in an inverter and cut out a piece of the dash to fit the outlets through, looked factory...but it's been some years since I've read any posts about that. I do know some guy at a site I used to work at did it on his 04 or 05 GMC Canyon, and said he could run a fridge off it safely.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power inverter mavcaster Electrical 12 11-20-2010 10:54 AM
Power Inverter Just2Big Shop Talk 5 02-04-2010 11:21 PM
Inverter Power... zipman5150 Electrical 7 11-18-2008 01:51 AM
best power inverter for the $ Grouperassasin Electrical 26 08-01-2008 03:12 AM
Power Inverter coyotekid Electrical 4 07-31-2005 11:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
© AutoGuide

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0