Diesel Place banner

AmsOil Diesel Additive

5K views 25 replies 10 participants last post by  c12719 
#1 ·
I know GM only suports use of the Stanadyne additives but what is everyone's take on the new AmsOil additive? My biggest problem is finding the Stanadyne and I want something I can find easily without issues.

I'm running AmsOil Synthetic oil so it would be easy to order at the same time.

#3 ·
#5 ·
That is because they are getting rid of the old formula before the updated one is out.

#6 · (Edited)
I'm an Amsoil independent dealer, and my monthly magazine came in the other day.
It has an article about the newly reformulated diesel additives and states that the reformulation was in response to the new ULSD fuel having lower lubricity, etc.
I've been using the Diesel Fuel Concentrate for at least 2 years. Before that I used the Diesel Fuel Modifier (both Amsoil). The DFM was stated to be the additive for light duty diesels such as ours, and that's why I used it.
Inquiries to Amsoil over the dealer info n etwork revealed the DFM had no lubricity increasing properties, and that I could use the DFC, just trouble to measure correctly, as it came in an opaque bottle, no graduations.
Under the reformulation DFM has been eliminated, and the DFC comes in a graduated, translucent bottle, and is for all diesels. Mixes 1 oz per 5 gallons fuel.
There is another additive, Cold Flow Improver, for use in cold climates. Seems to me that unless you are unfortunate enough to live in extreme cold areas, the winter blend sold should be enough to handle that?
Coming in October is a new Cetane improver.
All these additives are formulated to meet the requirements of the new ULSD fuel.
Ive still got enough of the old additive for 400 gallons of fuel at the old mix ratio of 1.6 oz per 10 gallons, guess I'll just use a bit more when I encounter the ULSD (haven't seen it yet here).
Dave

#7 ·
I saw the new AmsOil magazine as well that is why I am asking.